Publications    Contact Us    Sitemap   Deutsch  
print »send »
Carl Bertelsmann Prize 2001 November 13, 2019
Managing the Crisis
BTI Board
Carl Bertelsmann Prize 2001
Transformation Thinkers

Starting in 1996, the Bertelsmann Stiftung produced a conceptual framework of development and transformation.


A commission of prominent experts developed criteria that allowed for a thorough, qualitative comparison of development and transformation processes. In evaluating performance, factors such as the initial conditions, level of difficulty, and development status of individual states were taken into consideration. As a comprehensive analysis, the project included both political and economic dimensions as well as the management of these processes on the part of actors. Thirty-nine transition and 17 developing countries were examined over a five-year period for an international study.  


On September 12, 2001, the Bertelsmann Stiftung awarded the internationally renowned Carl Bertelsmann Prize, "Shaping Change - Strategies of Transformation." Notable individuals from Bolivia and Poland were honored for their exemplary work in shaping the peaceful transition toward democracy and a market economy in their countries.


The present BTI project is based upon that conceptual groundwork and a global network of experts.

Carl Bertelsmann Prize 2001

Online Version

┬╗ go to page

©2009 Bertelsmann Stiftung
Privacy PolicyImprint